Skip to content

I Yearn to Burn a Hole in My Pocket and Build a House from the Ashes

March 19, 2011

I am quite in the mood for some retail therapy at the moment to soothe my frayed work-related nerves. Mostly, I’ve gotten a yearning for virtual worldliness, which I think requires some explanation.

I have a couple of ideas in mind to fulfill this need I have to acquire a new feeling of homeliness.

The first idea is to go back to Everquest 2 or perhaps even try EQ2X because that’s the one place where I can really enjoy the housing system. I could try EQ1, but that game is beyond my patience level, seeing as I’ve been thoroughly spoiled by newer games. I just need to figure out if I intend to play long-term to end-game, or craft myself a storm and build tons of housing items. πŸ˜€

The second idea is to play EQ2 or EQ2X and Rift at the same time, so I can get my housing fix and my current MMO hotness fix.

The third idea I have is to give Games and Geekery a new home, by purchasing a domain name and finding myself a good host (to this end, I’m thinking of going with Arkenor’s host, called Arvixe).

Unfortunately, I’m too emotionally invested in all these ideas to be able to think things out more clearly. You’ve seen how… fickle… my gaming preoccupations can be.Β  Perhaps you can offer some good advice for me as to what might be a good course of action.

Heck, you may want to even offer me a different game to play. πŸ™‚

Just comment with your thoughts so I can have something to think about. Thanks. πŸ™‚

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2011 23:18

    I was strongly considering paying to copy Lyriana over to EQ2X so that I could have sporadic access to the game (and pretty much unrestricted access to housing), but they went through and made all the solo quest rewards in Velious “Legendary” quality to ensure that non-subscribers would have to pay to equip them. I don’t mind the concept of paying to unlock some dungeon loot that I might be keeping for months, but charging by the item for solo quest rewards very quickly gets to the point where I’m better off scheduling a single month to sub up, burn through the content, and not have access to the character the rest of the time.

    • March 19, 2011 23:21

      EQ2X feels like a ripoff when I read it, though I know average users who can live with free access will probably enjoy it. Would you suggest I sub to EQ2 Live for a month to see if that desire I have for housing in a game dissipates over time?

      • March 20, 2011 01:24

        The EQ2X restrictions are pretty much irrelevant if you want a home decorating MMO. There are no real limitations on making a Carpenter to furnish your home or acquiring enough currency to rent your house. Most other decorative things are available in world events, which are also generally free. Under those circumstances, I can’t recommend subbing to EQ2Live just for the housing.

        If you’re actually playing the PVE game, ironically, I think that EQ2X is a better deal for the hardcore than the casual. The main recurring expense for non-subscribers is gear unlock tokens. In the high end group game, you’re probably not going to replace your stuff often enough to run up $15/month in these tokens. It’s the solo game – especially the current expansion – where the current model can end up costing you MORE than $15/month if you replace too many quest rewards too quickly.

  2. March 19, 2011 23:58

    I’ve no desire to go back to EQ2 paid, even though my higher level character is there and I did all that work. With my ADD, I can’t justify paying the fee when there’s an acceptable free version next door. I’m a lot more tolerant of the cash-shop shennanigans then many, I believe, so in YOUR case, I’d weigh it as paying a monthly fee for less aggravation, same game as the free version which may have more aggravation.

    As for Rift, well, I’d say it depends on your personal attitude towards it, and your history with MMOs. If you can find a comfy seat in the game, with a friendly guild and all that, then it can be worth your while. If push comes to shove, EQ2X and paid Rift make a dynamite combo of housing and killing!

    Finally, re: the hosting, is there any feature that you feel that you’re missing by not self-hosting? I went the other direction, from self-hosting to hosted, and although there are SOME features I miss, I don’t miss having to keep up with WP updates, plugin updates, etc.

    Overall, I’d say go with EQ2X, Rift, and save some cash on the hosting.

    • March 20, 2011 00:05

      Heyo.

      The hosting thing is mostly a personal goal of mine: Turn my blog into a website and pay for my gaming habit through my writing. Sure, I’ll probably lose more money in the process, but I don’t think I can put a Paypal button and ask people to donate in order for me to have new content. πŸ™‚

      That said, I like your reasoning with EQ2X and Rift and such, but I’m also wondering about SWTOR. If my House is a spaceship, then I’d be pretty pleased with that. Also… I’m just a fan of the Sarnak, and I hate the idea of paying for a Sarnak through EQ2X. LOL. πŸ˜€

    • March 20, 2011 00:07

      By the way, what do you mean by self-hosting? I may be misunderstanding the concept. I don’t have knowledge of how to build a website, FYI, which makes the option of hosting a WordPress.org-powered site very intriguing to me.

      • March 20, 2011 02:14

        Sorry…self hosting is when you rent server space, register your domain and pay monthly. HOSTED is what you have now, where you get free space through Blogger or WordPress. It’s free, but you don’t have as much freedom to modify the site. With self-hosted space, you’re responsible for updating your blogging software, plugins, etc., but can also mess with the code, CSS, etc.

Leave a Reply

