Skip to content

A Moment of Writing for Rift

February 27, 2011

Beginning tomorrow, I will have to severely curtail my game playing to finish some school requirements after work hours. This means that I will barely be on for the next few days to play games, though I may be online.

That said, I’ve opted to make a post now about my current adventures in Rift, as I think I’ve found my stride in the game, and I don’t get so dizzy from playing anymore.

My main present is a Guardian Cleric named Stillwater on the Estrael RP-PVE server, and so farmy experiences can be described as either intense or stress-free; intense related to full-scale invasions, but stress-free as it concerns gathering, crafting, and the general ability of my cleric to pound stuff into a bloody pulp.

The Guardian storylines are actually pretty awesome, though I’m wondering about to progress out of the first zone past the starter zone. So far, I’m level 15, and I’ve not needed to move on yet. Fire rifts are fun, and there’s a healthy amount of people who are playing and closing up rifts, but not enough to make my gathering of ore a footrace of epic proportions.

I’m also planning on restarting a mage project, but I’m still on the fence as to what initial souls I should use. I want to make an ice mage, but every spec that uses the Stormcaller as a main seems to recommend using both air and water for full effect. Anyway, no sense thinking about that till my work is done so I’ll figure somethign out when the time comes.

In the meantime, I hope everyone enjoys their leisure time, whatever game or activity you might be engaging in. Cheers!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 28, 2011 05:55

    Hmm, not sure if you can make a “pure” ice mage in Rift the same as you would in other games. The souls are designed and intended to play off each other, and the good news is that many of them work well with each other, beyond the ones being recommend. I played Elementalist/Chloromancer/Stormcaller in beta. Elementalist was nice for the pet and having your own personal tank. Chloromancer was indispensable for the heals. And I liked hurling icicles with my Stormcaller abilities 😛

  2. João Carlos permalink
    March 1, 2011 00:07

    I am playing an elementalist/stormcaller/dominator. Pet tank and ice and lighting spells, mostly stormcaller attack spells.

    Maybe what will work for you be a ice/fire mage, a stormcaller/pyromancer… or vice-versa.

  3. Jedibot permalink
    March 1, 2011 08:11

    hmmm looks like mage is nice but I’ll probably have my starting character be either a warrior or a rouge, but the cleric/tank is looking nice too

  4. March 2, 2011 01:41

    how long would you say it took you to get to lvl 15?

    • March 2, 2011 02:47

      to level 15? I’d say about…. 15-20 hours of play. The first 67 levels come quickly due to starter area, but then the next 8 were rather slow to come.

      • March 4, 2011 02:24

        if you ever go to the Faeblight server, you can look for my two mains: Exponent (tank), Jomu (chloromancer) =)

Leave a Reply

