Skip to content

Heading to Old Norrath, or What Did I Get Myself Into?!

January 14, 2011

I had a couple of choices for title names in my head, which included, “Heavens be damned, I cannot run!” and “How Doth One Respondeth to an NPC?” Ultimately, I decided the simplest two titles would be the best.

Reading about the time-locked progression server for Everquest made me realize something. The very first MMORPG I wanted to play was this game I saw in Inquest Magazine called Everquest, circa 1999-2000, and despite all the expansions that have come for the game, I could actually have the chance to experience the very game that made me want to be an MMO gamer to begin with.

Sadly, I’m not the same person I was in 1999. Hell, I’m not the same person I was in 2009. My preferences have no doubt changed due to the coddling by current-generation MMORPG traits, so I wanted to see the extent of my coddled nature by engaging in the trial for Everquest, called Escape to Norrath.

The first thing I said to myself when I was first able to get into the game world was, “Dagnabbit, what the hell is up with the User Interface?” It was everywhere, covering most of the screen and obscuring my character’s vision severely.

The second thing I noticed was that pressing the WSAD combination of keys did not make my character move.

Eventually, after closing some windows, I realized that I needed to figure out where to go to change my button layout, and I found out that the reason why I couldn’t move was that the game relegated the movement buttons to the right side of my keyboard on the arrow keys. With that fixed, I began my adventure… for all of five minutes.

One of the Escape to Norrath quests had me learning to equip armor. The problem was the quest prompt told me to equip the armor and then respond to the questgiver through main chat. Unfortunately, I didn’t know what to do to get the questgiver to continue the quest, so I quit the game and did some errands and bought McDonald’s food, and wrote this.

This game will definitely take some getting used to, especially for someone who’s used to the luxuries of the current generation of MMO game.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. Longasc permalink
    January 14, 2011 15:53

    I do not think you are up to the task if figuring out the UI/controls is difficult for you.

    • January 14, 2011 15:57

      To be fair, I only spent 20 minutes in game. Didn’t get to explore it much just yet, and I’m not sure what everything does so I’m not sure where I should place certain UI elements. šŸ˜€

    • January 21, 2011 02:55

      WoW’s fault, I’m sure. /eyeroll

      Hey Victor, I never played EQ, but I cut my teeth on FFXI, which was less than user-friendly as well. I’m sure you’ll work it out and have a good time trying something new (old?). šŸ˜‰

      • January 21, 2011 08:00

        Thanks Drew. šŸ™‚ Haven’t been able to play the trial much due to real life commitments, but I’m hoping to have some free time soon to play it. šŸ˜€

  2. January 14, 2011 17:01

    It will demand more effort.

    But much like running Linux instead of Windows, the average person CAN do it, if they apply themselves.

    You’ll be fine. I’d suggest a couple more forays into EtN before the progression server comes out, then it’s likely worth spending time playing EQ on that server.

    How often do you get the chance to go back in time? (Even if it’s not PERFECTLY the same . . . it’s close!)

    • January 14, 2011 20:06

      Thanks Corwynn. I don’t think I’ve applied myself (in games) in a long time. Looking forward to going on a time warp adventure. šŸ˜€

      Worst case scenario? I play non time-locked progression server EQ and get a house and decorate it. šŸ˜€

  3. January 14, 2011 21:07

    Hail the NPCs with they H key šŸ˜‰

    Alt+Q brings up the quest window too.

    I poked around in EQ last night too, took ages to decide which class to play. Still waiting on my transfers to FV.

    • January 14, 2011 21:29

      I’ve been told Magician is a good class to play for a newbie to EQ. You get pet that works as tank, ranged DPS or Melee DPS. šŸ™‚

  4. January 14, 2011 21:12

    Welcome to Norrath Victor! EQ is a game that plays like a MUD with pictures, but then again I have no idea if you ever played a MUD. In any event, when you read the text, often part of the text will be in [brackets]. If you type /say brackets the npc will respond and advance the conversation. None of this fancy schmancy quest boxes…nope, there is a lot of reading involved. Anyway, good luck in Everquest and I hope you have a lot of free time…you’ll need it!

    • January 14, 2011 21:28

      So that’s why there was something in brackets. Thanks so much for the information! šŸ˜€ I tried clicking on it to no avail. LOL.

  5. January 14, 2011 22:38

    Haha Victor! I recently reactivated my EQ account and started up an enchanter and ran into many of the same issues you did… and I played the game for over 4 years back in the day! I’m looking forward to this progression server too. Maybe we should all try rolling on the same server or something, EQ isn’t (or wasn’t at least) a very solo friendly game.

    • January 14, 2011 22:50

      Well, I plan to roll on the upcoming progression server, and I am saving up to buy the House of Thule Expansion so I can do housing. But damnit, these commands! It’s very different from EQ2, and I’m studying everything I can get my hands on to figure out stuff I need to learn how to do to progress in game.

  6. January 14, 2011 23:27

    This is an awesomely informative site – at least you won’t get lost šŸ™‚

    http://www.eqmacwiki.com/eqatlas/atlas.html

    • January 14, 2011 23:29

      Thanks for the link. I commented on your blog as well. let me know where you’re rolling on EQ, and I’ll see if I can join in, if EQ manages to capture my attention for longer than my usual span of time. šŸ˜€

Trackbacks

  1. Interestingly Enough… « Voodoo Gamer

Leave a Reply

