Skip to content

1000 Words: This is Going to Take a While…

October 21, 2010

My aunt from the US just arrived and gave me a copy of FFXIV.

I was ecstatic, seeing as I wanted to play this for a long time. There’s just one thing: it’s going to take me years to patch this sucker if the download speed is any indication. 😦

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 21, 2010 02:06

    Although YMMV, the patcher DOES tend to start out slow at first. It’s using bittorrent, I BELIEVE, so you may be able to connect to more peers for a better rate.

    • October 21, 2010 02:10

      I hope so… I’m only connected to one local connection at present. WoW’s patcher was so much faster though…

  2. October 21, 2010 02:15

    wow; even that makes my connection seem fast
    i can feel the pain 😦

  3. October 21, 2010 04:06

    I’m so happy for you that you finally got it! Though not so happy for you about your connection 😦

    • October 21, 2010 07:31

      It actually went by faster than I expected. I thought the progress bar was for one specific patch only, but was in fact a cumulative progress bar for all the patches so far.

      It finished after 4 hours of patching, strangely enough.

      Now I just need to complete my account and figure out where I want to play, or if I still want to play with the guild I’m in. πŸ™‚

  4. girlgrey permalink
    October 21, 2010 04:24

    Ewwwwwww….

Leave a Reply

