Skip to content

Viewing FFXIV’s Credits may Force you to Reinstall

September 25, 2010

Some more news from FFXIV Lodestone, everyone. This time, it’s pretty important, so read on!

The credits of FFXIV are currently bugged for some reason, and viewing them may result in getting an error so bad that you may need to reinstall and repatch the game.

Here’s the quote from the Lodestone:

-If a player has viewed the credits, the game may display the error message ” An update error has occurred. Error 20524″ and fail to update properly.
*We apologize for the inconvenience, but if this error occurs we ask that you please reinstall FINAL FANTASY XIV.

Since I’m not playing the game yet, I can’t really tell if this is referring to the opening cinematic, or a credits option available on the starting menu. Feel free to just take the safe route and not view either or confirm it by checking with Square Enix.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 27, 2010 19:48

    I don’t think it’s from viewing the opening movie, because I did that and haven’t encountered the error above.

    Good thing I didn’t check out the credits, though, apparently!

    • September 27, 2010 19:50

      So there’s an option in the main menu then to view the credits screen?

      I guess I know what I won’t be doing then. 🙂

  2. September 27, 2010 20:57

    Yeah, I want to say the menu looks something like this (I’m not viewing it currently):

    > Start
    > Opening Movie
    > Credits
    > Quit

Leave a Reply

