Skip to content

Victor Stillwater Digs Deep: A MineCraft Write-Up!

September 20, 2010

My First Night in Minecraft

I spent my first night in Minecraft huddling inside a small hole waiting for the sun to come out. I watched as zombies and skeletons passed by me, and prayed that, despite the darkness and my lack of torches, no spiders would spawn in front of me.

Eventually, however, I peeked out of my hole and found myself face to face with a skeleton archer, who proceeded to pelt me with arrows. I was trapped, and died helplessly in an open grave of my own creation.

—-

Strangely enough, it was a satisfying, tense experience that made me want more. In certain respects, the tension I felt was the same one I had when I was playing Darkfall, except the penalty for dying wasn’t as severe and the crafting here is far more fun.

Sorry for beginning with the ending there. Let me first introduce MineCraft for the uninitiated. MineCraft is a open-world sandbox PC game that was created by Markus Persson (aka Notch). The game places the player in a randomly generated world where he has free reign to gather materials and craft items that will help him to stay alive in the world when night comes, as night brings the spawning of monsters in places without light.

The objectives in this current version, MineCraft Alpha are relatively simple, but people with the time and creativity to mine and craft have managed to create astounding things in the game. As it stands, one can try the game for free currently on the MineCraft website though, once the authentication and payment servers are back up, Notch will begin charging people again to download and play MineCraft.

As for me, I think I’ll keep playing this game, and when it levels up and becomes a final release, I will be proud to have been one of the people who helped make it that way.

In the meantime, here are some links for you to follow if you’re interested in MineCraft.

Notch’s Blog

MineCraft on Wikipedia

The MineCraft Forums

Arkenor’s Minecraft Videos

Some Coverage of MineCraft from Rock, Paper, Shotgun

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

