Skip to content

Dungeons and Dragons Offline

April 16, 2010

I’ve been away from posting for the past few days due to a couple of developments in my life. The first is that I had summer classes all this week on Media Education. The second is that I met an old friend in class who actually plays a Dungeon Master in the Pen-and-Paper Dungeons and Dragons games for his former students, and invited me to get into PnP Roleplaying.

Within the span of four days, I’ve managed to read up a lot about Dungeons and Dragons 3.5, created a few level one characters for future use, and even bought a book about Eberron, the campaign setting that my friend DMs in. His players are currently level 9 or so, which means he might have to create adventures solely for me, but I don’t mind waiting so much.

In the meantime, I’ve been on a forum reading campaign journals, and posting queries of my own to acquire more information on the various subjects.  The thing is, I found myself feeling very uncomfortable today because of something I posted.

I basically asked for a comparison-contrast of Dungeons and Dragons 3.5 and 4.0, as well as a meta-history of the events that occurred leading up to and after the release of D&D4.0. The result of the thread, while informative, was also drawing dangerously close to becoming a flame war because people had strong opinions on subjects related to my original questions (as well as other questions that popped up) and wanted to share them.

I also felt somewhat weird because I was asking for some assistance with setting up a campaign of my own. Basically, my friend and I will figure out most of the mechanics, but I was looking for experienced DMs to assist me in fleshing out the overall premise and story of the campaign. I had some takers, but it still felt weird because I thought I would be shrugged off by other people.

Glad to know there are good people about, at the very least, and I’m hoping the future of my pen-and-paper adventuring will be sunny and bright.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 17, 2010 02:43

    /envy I have fond memories of my old pen and paper days.

    The little that I did GM I wrote a story and then adapted published adventures to fit my needs. There are a ton of free resources out there if you look hard enough…I may even still have some somewhere on a CD or something that would work with 3.X.

    Being your first campaign, I would use a lot of the published material (as far as monsters and encounters and loot goes) to get started and adapt it to fit your needs. It is very easy to have a game become imbalanced due to too much tinkering.

    I hope it goes well for you. Too bad you are on the other side of the planet or else I’d join your group! :o)

    -Pid

  2. xXJayeDuBXx permalink
    April 17, 2010 23:19

    I haven’t played D&D in ages, but I have really wanted to get back into the pen & paper and boardgame scene, I just don’t have a clue how to find local gaming groups.

Leave a Reply

