Skip to content

Sidetracked by Second Chances

April 9, 2010

Remember that post on Second Chances? Yeah, well, I’m still downloading AOC, and out of curiosity, I did a bit of research into what exists in the other MMO I played at launch and left within a month: Warhammer Online.

According to my research, they’ve improved the game considerably, adding new classes as well as new content, all while improving the game’s stability. Of course, it’s a PVP centric game, which really isn’t my thing, but since they have an endless trial it wouldn’t hurt to give it a try, I suppose.

So here’s the current situation. I can play EQ2, or stop playing for a little while, try out AOC (as a conqueror) and WAR (as a Black Orc and Choppa) trials when I feel like it, and then pick a sub for a month for one of the three to see what I can do with it. That sounds like a pretty weird plan, but it’s a plan nevertheless.

If you have any ideas for other MMOs I should try, let me know.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 9, 2010 22:24

    I dabble in WAR and whilst it has improved a heck of a lot I think it is too far gone to ‘save’. This latest account fiasco could be another nail entering the coffin I fear. A real shame as in the right hands it could have been a pretty special MMO.

    • victorstillwater permalink*
      April 9, 2010 22:26

      Well, I haven’t played it since three weeks after it launched. There’s bound to be some new experiences in it for me. πŸ˜€

      I might not sub it, but at least it’s something to do. πŸ˜€

      Of course, I may need to wait until they fix their account issue though.

  2. xXJayeDuBXx permalink
    April 9, 2010 23:52

    Love the header, that is sweet!

    I would give the endless trial a go, what do you have to loose right!

    • victorstillwater permalink*
      April 10, 2010 00:17

      RIGHT! Nothing to lose! Tons of fun to gain!

  3. April 10, 2010 00:32

    Picking between a Choppa and Black Orc is pretty easy. The Choppa will be much more rewarding in RvR, have a higher acceptance rate into groups and guilds, and will generally be better supported than the Gimp Orc.

    Of course, if you’re a glutton for punishment like I am, you’d take a BO before a Choppa any day of the week.

    • victorstillwater permalink*
      April 10, 2010 00:37

      Thanks Grimnir!

      Btw, also checked your blog. Great stuff. Hope to read more on it as I get my feet wet with WAR in the coming weeks.

    • xXJayeDuBXx permalink
      April 10, 2010 23:46

      The Black Orc is awesome, he just kills things a bit slower. The Choppa is fun, but I seem to die very quickly. Of course it could be because I run into the middle of the battle laughing and swinging two axes!

  4. April 10, 2010 09:42

    I hope it goes well for you…I tried going back twice, and all it did was remind me of how disappointed I was with the game…I mean it is a really great idea, it just fell flat. Boo hoo.
    -Pid

    • victorstillwater permalink*
      April 10, 2010 11:38

      Thanks Pid. πŸ™‚ I’m leaning towards Age of Conan more though as an alternate sub to EQ2 if I so desire. πŸ™‚

  5. Adventurer Historian permalink
    April 19, 2010 06:49

    I left WAR once I got into the 20s, but went back months later and gave it another shot. I was disappointed to find that Mythic had “streamlined” Tier One, removing some of the content and making it impossible to get area completion in the Tome.

    I then read about Mythic’s decision to remove some of the least played scenarios, in a desire to keep steamlining the game. I think player outcries prevented that, but the idea still shocked me.

    I’m not really negative about WAR – it was good, in its own way, and was an interesting take on Warhammer Fantasy – but I just never got into it. This is completely unfair, but to me it kept coming across as WoW-playing-grown-up.

    However, I’m totally loving AoC!

Leave a Reply

