Skip to content

Monday’s a Good Day for New Beginnings

April 5, 2010

Over here in the Philippines, it’s actually Monday already. While most people are at work, I’m doing something I love, which is working to make this humble blog a more exciting place.

To that end, there are, again, some new changes over here on Games and Geekery that you might want to know about. The most obvious one is, of course, the switch to a new theme. It has more space, and had almost all of the previous functions of the theme I was originally using, which made it a great fit for the blog.

Of course, since this is a free WordPress blog, it will probably look a bit similar from what already exists out in the blogosphere. To combat that, Elandarex used his wonderful Photoshop skills to create a new header for the site. This one has a very obvious retro theme, but we’re experimenting with different ideas to see if we can come up with a couple of headers that we can change every few months or so to spice things up.

Lastly, there’s one other change I’ve implemented here as a result of bringing Elandarex into Games and Geekery. From today onwards, I am accepting guest submissions regarding video games and other forms of geekery (a very broad statement for a reason) from other writers who may wish to get their thoughts out but do not necessarily want to maintain a blog of their own.

The backstory for this is simple: a friend of mine on Twitter wanted to repost something he wrote on the genre-specific topic of gaming, but didn’t find it to be a perfect fit for his personal blog. I offered my space and, well, the rest will be history once I put up the post. Expect the post to be up once I get some last minute details regarding the write-up.

In the meantime, if you find any bugs or weird looking shenanigans on the blog, please let me know so I can take a look at it and fix it if possible. Cheers!

Image Source: To Whom It May Concern

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 5, 2010 15:10

    Site’s looking really nice, though I definitely need to make a more appropriate header. Unfortunately I have been so swept up in the weekends Eastery festivities (i.e. slipping into a diabetic coma thanks to mass ingestion of sweets) that I had not a moment to spare. Well, unless you count playing games as having a moment, or lazing about, or… you get the picture. 😉

    • elandarex permalink
      April 5, 2010 15:11

      Hahah, wasn’t logged in for that comment. Oops!

      I am now. :S

      • victorstillwater permalink*
        April 5, 2010 19:54

        You showed up as Alcasm in the first comment. LOL. 😀

  2. April 6, 2010 06:02

    liking the new design =) I gotta figure out how to use photoshop myself

    the guest submissions is a great idea; one of my friends sent me some of his ramblings to add 🙂

    • victorstillwater permalink*
      April 6, 2010 21:04

      Thanks! 😀 I was just lucky that Elandarex knew Photoshop. 😀

  3. April 6, 2010 22:20

    Biggest thing you could do is get yourself a .com URL. You won’t regret it – it will help a lot 🙂

    • victorstillwater permalink*
      April 6, 2010 22:28

      Heyo! Thanks for the advice. Honestly, I’ve been thinking about upgrading to a paid service and having myself hosted, but I don’t have the money for that now. Right now my money goes to schooling, books, and games. 😀

      I’ll remember this advice though, as it’s certainly a good one. 😀

Leave a Reply

