Skip to content

Getting Back to Blogging

March 26, 2010

My apologies for leaving the blog so abruptly and without even putting up a note of absence to the people reading.

School took over my life, as well as some personal issues, and I decided to use the time off from blogging to take care of the things that needed to be addressed.Β  That included finishing papers, getting more sleep, and figuring out where I wanted this blog, and my life, to go.

I basically want this blog to be a safe place for myself to write about games, and I think I’ve been so busy managing the appearance of being fair and even-handed that I lost sight of things that I wanted to say but threw out of some entries so as to make them more easily read. It’ll be a challenge for me to be more open with what I feel, because having a strong opinion on the internet means meeting opposition, and I tend to be averse to that sort of thing, but I will try, at least, to get my words out in the way I want them to be read.

That said, expect an update of my gaming habits soon.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 26, 2010 22:15

    Good to see you back mate.

    The way I do it if I am going to be saying something perhaps not everyone will agree with is make clear that it is my opinion on it rather than fact. I also think this helps in sounding less like you are preaching to someone and forcing your view.

    In saying that I like to be challenged by opposing opinions it makes it a bit more interesting rather than always getting back slaps and tummy rubs. It also opens things up for debate and if the comments are sensible make great reading.

    • victorstillwater permalink*
      March 26, 2010 22:25

      True. BUt as you very well noticed, when things get heated and a flame war erupts, I burn easily. 😦

      • March 26, 2010 22:39

        easiest thing to do is say ‘Ok cool thats your opinion, its different from mine but hey guess we will agree to disagree’

        The problem arises when people think they are free to tell someone they are wrong. If it is in relation to facts then sure its all fine and well and I am extremely grateful if I miss quote something and am straighted out by a reader. What I dislike is someone saying my opinion is wrong as it is different to their own.

        At the end of the day I treat people like I want to be treated…. with respect and honesty, as you have witnessed I can go over the top and blow my fuse but hey Im human and I can make errors.

        So yeah stick to your guns and post your thoughts more often without concern about the reaction from others. Read my latest post regarding RP, its one I was fully expecting to get flamed for but surprisingly the comments – even those who disagreed with me were all fine.

      • March 27, 2010 02:46

        Remember, I am always available to call people names in an attempt to distract them. All I ask for in return is hits on mah blog.

    • victorstillwater permalink*
      March 26, 2010 22:50

      Read your other comment.

      You’re right. I should treat people with respect and honesty. πŸ™‚ Definitely something to take with me into real life as well.

  2. March 26, 2010 22:55

    haha aye missed you too chief

  3. March 27, 2010 08:48

    Nice to see you back. And the beauty of RSS feeds is that when you *do* pop back up, it’ll be right there in my reader. I have WAY too many blogs I follow to visit them individually each day. I mean… I do try to have a life, ya know? πŸ˜€

    • victorstillwater permalink*
      March 27, 2010 10:55

      Thanks! πŸ˜€ I also decided to go back to Everquest 2. I hope you still play. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

