Skip to content

I Feel Bad for Being a Vulture, But Am I Really Bad?

March 5, 2010

I’m not done with the Darkfall trial yet, but I just wanted to point out something I noticed I could do while under newbie protection.

I was lucky enough on one occasion to stumble upon a negatively-aligned Player (henceforth called a Red Player) who was essentially beating the daylights out of someone without newbie protection. Needless to say, said receiver of damage died, and left a shiny gravestone. Now, this is where I feel some guilt.

Red player ran after someone else trying to kill him, and all of this was happening in the dark. I ran to the dead person’s gravestone, looted all of it (really slowly, as I hadn’t had a handle on the system yet), and the red player came back. Afraid that some kind of newbie-protection destruction spell existed, I ran in the opposite direction, and they didn’t chase me.

Under carebear conventions, this seems like a bad thing to do, but I wondered if such vulturing was a commonplace occurrence in Darkfall. Darkfall is a dog-eat-dog world, amid all the nice helpful people. I’m not entirely sure what to do with myself now that I’ve confessed to being some lowly scrapper who loots from fallen players. I had to ask myself, however, why the same sense of honor doesn’t apply to non-player characters and enemy spawns? Aren’t they living beings in the world I inhabit as well, even if they aren’t controlled by players?

Of course, I may be overthinking this. Perhaps I should just accept that the game’s mechanics allow for this kind of behavior to be done, but it’s morality (or lack thereof) is dependent on the mindset of the person playing the game.

Perhaps I should just be in ruthless mode whenever I play Darkfall?

Image taken from this source

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 5, 2010 06:21

    For shame, Mr. Stillwater! For shame!

    Where is your honour?!

    • victorstillwater permalink*
      March 5, 2010 06:39

      Honor doesn’t save a person from ganking. Newbie protection does.

  2. March 5, 2010 13:05

    Common occurrence? Not yet. But it will be. The newbie protection has not been in long, so we are just now hearing complaints about this “flaw”, if flaw it is!

    Personally, I think what you did is fine. Face it, Darkfall requires a cut-throat view of the world. If you do not have a bit of it, you simply will not survive. Things like this can help teach the “noob” that DF is not quite like the other MMOs they have played, while at the same time, allow them to slowly immerse themselves in it. Far better than being completely thrown to the wolves.

    I look forward to your impressions soon. I just resubbed to DF and started a new character, as I just was not satisfied with the old one. Hope to see you in-game!

  3. March 5, 2010 19:32

    Haha Vic the vulture, who would have thought you had it in you ya big ol’ care bear 😉

    Trust me you did the right thing, Darkfall is all about survival of the fittest and in a sense you should view every situation in that there is no rules, especially in the early stages of your character development.

    When I was playing I looted plenty of newbie tombstones after they died (by mobs/other players) as it gave me more of a leg up and let me keep a small back up of weapons etc for the inevitible time that I would get ganked and ransacked.

    So yeah morals out the window and you will do fine, the day you feel sorry for someone in Darkfall is the day they sneak up behind you and stab you in the back.

  4. March 6, 2010 00:51

    you ‘should’ feel bad, but maybe the game is teaching you how the game works, that you do have the ability to be a vulture and graverob and run, or even help them, or whatever immoral choice you want.

    • victorstillwater permalink*
      March 6, 2010 01:12

      True. Still, the morality of it all scares me. Is it immoral or moral if its online?

Trackbacks

  1. The Nature of the Beast: Darkfall Impressions « Games and Geekery

Leave a Reply

