Skip to content

Opening Salvos?

February 13, 2010

My attention was recently directed towards a post on Kill That Cheerleader, accusing me of being paid by various companies in compensation for my writing about them to various degrees. I’d like to take the time to address this now, as I’m quite perturbed by these statements Pitrelli has put forth.

For the record, I am not being paid by any company to talk about their product. While the offer to accept a paid sponsorship would be tempting should such an offer come to me, I’d much rather prefer getting promotional codes that I can give away instead of keep as that would promote people to try the games they are too afraid to try.

Speaking of games that people are unwilling to try, I do not see Pitrelli attempting to play Everquest 2 to judge it on its own merits. There’s a free trial out there for uninformed fellows like himself to test the game, so that he can see that the game isn’t a “poor man’s WoW” but rather as a game that stands on its own two feet.

Next, let us go on to the Cryptic matter. I personally do not have any qualms with Cryptic as a game company, but I did take offense to the fact that their games have a tendency to lack content. Contrary to what Pitrelli will have you believe, I do not applaud Cryptic for making Champions Online: Revelation free, but simply accept it as the natural outcome of a bad public relations decision that needed to be rectified.

Next, the hugs. There is nothing wrong with hugging. Perhaps, if Pitrelli’s mother had hugged him more as a child, he would not be so maladjusted towards the world.

Finally, let me respond to a comment posted by Kaldeem on Pitrelli’s post. As I am a working student, I have to apportion my funding correctly. This means waiting for bargains to show up whenever possible, and capitalizing on them. I am lucky enough to have a family that supports me in my endeavor for further education, and doubtless you do too, but is it really too much to ask for some understanding on your part? I play games that appeal to me, and move on when I either can’t play that game any more due to monetary constraints or the arrival of a new game.

In addition, since this is predominantly a gaming blog, I have to scramble to find stuff that I can talk about when possible. I accept that not every post will be as thought-provoking as you would like, but then again, not every post can be a masterwork of epic proportions.

Finally, please note that comment moderation will be on for this post only if you are a first-time commenter. While I would like to avoid trolling, I do respect a reader’s need to vent, and will try to respond appropriately as the situation demands it. Please refer to my blog rules for additional information regarding my policies.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 13, 2010 12:39

    Don’t defend yourself against these baseless accusations Victor! This is war!

    Cast aside all notions of fair play and strike back with terrible vengeance!

    MUAHAHAHAH!

  2. February 13, 2010 22:12

    nice picture.

    Thats all

  3. warhammermer permalink
    February 16, 2010 00:58

    I think you have to try harder to make this truly a spam war. your too far to nice 😀

Leave a Reply

