Skip to content

Either the Power is Fluctuating in My House or I Have Rift Patcher Woes

February 25, 2011

I seem to be having a problem with the Rift patcher.

You see, there’s a little something known as sleep that I’ve heard is important for people to have to function normally. The thing is, and I don’t know why, but ever since I tried patching the Live Rift Client and leaving my computer on (making sure to conserve power by turning off my monitor and speakers), SOMETHING keeps forcibly restarting my computer.

The thing is, my Windows 7 alert keeps pointing to a problem with my ATI (or is it AMD now?) Graphics Driver, but after patching it to the latest version and then leaving my computer for 15 minutes to eat breakfast, it still ends up rebooting, and I can’t bloody figure out why.

Add to this the horrible way in which the patcher keeps trying to redownload all the information I just picked up when I restart it, and I have used up more than eight hours of electricity trying to patch a game that should have only been missing 2GB of data eight hours ago!

Right now, the patcher says it has 42 minutes to go before finishing, but I’m guessing it’ll still be another hour before I really finish. I only hope everything goes right this time.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. pitrelli permalink
    February 25, 2011 17:54

    sorry to say it sounds exactly the same problem i had….. Which was a faulty graphics card (confirmed with my rma). Try a spare one if you have it

    • February 25, 2011 20:14

      BUt my graphics card works on everything else, and is less than a year old as purchased from a retailer! :(

      Anyway, managed to download the patch by staying up for a really long time.

  2. João Carlos permalink
    February 25, 2011 21:59

    look at your windows 7 enermy management options…

    that thing likes to shut down the pc after you aren’t using it for 30 minutes.

  3. João Carlos permalink
    February 25, 2011 22:00

    ops… energy management options… not enermy

  4. Jedibot permalink
    February 27, 2011 10:33

    Hmm planning on getting this one since I’m tired of waiting for SE to fix FFXIV, please continue blogging about this game thanks

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

