Skip to content

December – Willpower = Monetary Losses, Many Games, and Lots of Love

December 25, 2010

December was a rather tumultuous month for me for a variety of reasons. In addition to school, I was looking for a new job and was constantly rebudgeting my money to compensate for a lack of willpower due to various personal events happening in my life.

For once, I gave a digital gift through Stargrace’s Secret Santa. I bought a copy of Amnesia: The Dark Descent, and I’m hoping MMO Gamer Chick, the fine blogger who received my gift, enjoys the numerous hours of immeasurable terror it brings.

On the side of my personal purchases, I had an active sub to World of Warcraft. In addition to this, I bought Mount and Blade and its Warband “expansion.” I spent some money to alleviate some personal depression, but it ended up making me feel worse, so I actually went and purchased even more games to try and forget the guilt I was feeling, and my inability to say no to a good deal sort of killed my budget severely. MMO Gamer Chick, who happened to be my Secret Santa, also gave me her gift, which was a Steam copy of Borderlands, which I’ve played quite a bit.

As Christmas neared though, some unexpected gifts came in. People started giving me money, and I started saving it up, only to realize that I wanted even more games because of some rather intriguing deals and my own lack of Willpower. I purchased Just Cause 2, The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion, and Team Fortress 2 within the past two weeks. I also unsubbed to WoW, and replaced it with a sub to Darkfall in order to make an attempt to resurrect Blackrod LeDouche.

Finally, Longasc from Twitter enticed me to purchase Guild Wars with some healthy talking points on Twitter, and because of some luck on my end and some assistance from Ardua as well, Steam had the Trilogy on sale and the Eye of the North expansion was available on the NCSoft Store for 10 dollars. Total damage: a little over 35 dollars for the full package, once I finish installing the Guild Wars Trilogy.

Right now, I’m not sure if I’m really happy or not, but one thing I do know is that I’m loved, not only by my family, but also by the friends I have here at home and also those of you online who comment on my tweets or read my blog. To all of you, it means a lot.

To all of my friends online, I just want to say thank you, and Merry Christmas. Much love to all of you, and cheers! :D

9 Comments leave one →
  1. arthur1977 permalink
    December 27, 2010 15:31

    Great pick ups Victor!

    I really enjoy playing Just Cause 2 and have been playing Guild Wars off and on for the last couple of months slowly getting my Hall of Monuments score up for GW2 (its still at 3 :P).

    If you see me on drop me a line, my GW name is King Arthur Vii (I might not be on a lot right now as I am painting my computer room).

    All the best and Happy Holidays!

  2. December 28, 2010 12:57

    I can’t wait to play Amnesia! One of these days in the light of day…since I don’t know if I want to play it in the dark :D I just read up on it though, and it sounds AWESOME! Thanks so much again! *hugs*

    • December 28, 2010 17:06

      My cousin tried playing the demo in the dark on my rig, and he just started screaming and running around when an invisible enemy started stabbing and chasing him in a water-filled cellar.

  3. December 28, 2010 22:37

    Happy Holidays Victor.

  4. December 29, 2010 02:01

    good luck on guild wars 1; i can’t bring myself to play that, so i didn’t buy the Eye of the North expansion.

    i got borderlands too :D i originally had 5 characters all lvl 58+ on the 360.. THATS how good it is, that ill buy it again on pc ;)

Trackbacks

  1. Holiday Aftermath « MMO Gamer Chick
  2. Oh, The Insanity! – My Thoughts On Amnesia: The Dark Descent « MMO Gamer Chick

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

