Skip to content

Losing Faith in the Fantasy

November 4, 2010

I’ve been putting this article off for a while now. Due to a recent update on Square Enix’s Lodestone site, however, I suppose now’s as good a time as any to talk about what I think about Final Fantasy XIV.

Square Enix recently implemented a rather innocuous feature on their Lodestone site called History, which essentially allows people to search for characters and then see what they’ve achieved or, through some mild extrapolation, how long they’ve been playing.

This has allowed some users to find out that some folks who have been writing about the game or drawing manga about their “adventures” have played for only about ten minutes (link has NSFW elements).

In my case, I was genuinely excited for the game. I was looking forward to learning all about a new world and whatnot. The thing is, the game felt like work too much, and I reached a rather low Ed Zitron Number of around four hours played in total.

What did I think of Final Fantasy XIV during that time? Well, it was a bit of a beautiful game with a potential for tons of grinding, and not in a way that made you feel like you weren’t working. That was not how I wanted to spend my free time.

As for what I think of Final Fantasy XIV now, it would be honest, though unkind, of me to say that I do not think of it at all. It’s made me lose faith in the pedigree of a Final Fantasy game, especially for one that was so ambitious in scope, and so I’d prefer to move on and forget than to gnash my teeth in annoyance at remembering something that let me down.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 4, 2010 03:37

    Yeah, that game left a lot of people very unhappy. I was thinking of giving it a try, but I guess it just wasn’t meant to be.

  2. November 4, 2010 12:04

    Aw, that sucks, man. I know how excited you were to get it. Well, at least now you know what it’s about and whether or not it’ll be worth checking out in the future when they patch everything in. I know what you mean about work, though. Especially with crafting. The mini-games are better than nothing, but only if you want something extra in your crafting to begin with… and only if you want that extra 100% of the time. What game will be your main now?

  3. arthur1977 permalink
    November 4, 2010 12:09

    I think FFXIV will turn out to be a good game but it really needs time to build a economy and iron out some of its current bugs. Like our good man Victor I had really high hopes and they were not met, but I think that is also partly my fault. In retrospect I spent to much time leveling different Jobs (Weaver, Black Smith, Carpenter, Botanist, Miner and Thaumaturge) to level 10 it felt like I was going nowhere. Final Fantasy XIV is a game that requires you to have at least a little focus to more the story line forward and keep you interested in the game.

    All in all I do think it will mature into a good game, it just needs time.

    Until then I will be playing Guild Wars :P

  4. November 5, 2010 09:04

    Unfortunately, it seems you ended with the same conclusion I did about FFXIV – a game I was truly so excited about before release.

    /sigh

  5. November 5, 2010 12:29

    It’s amazing how little they seem to have learned from FFXI. People were saying the same thing back then too, particularly when US players started hitting endgame and realized it was Dynamis, Sky… and that was it. For ages. They made improvements here and there with the expansions, but overall, the game just stuck to it’s grindtastic guns, never overhauled the UI, always kept a tight reign on any user-generated modifications, and just sucked the fun out of most of its content. Such a shame, because their lore was fantastic.

Trackbacks

  1. Does the Gaming Experience Require a Bell Curve of Play or a Gamer Profile Preamble? « Games and Geekery
  2. On “Bad” Games, Pricing Models, and the Feeling of Fun « Games and Geekery

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

