Skip to content

Square Enix: Making Playing FFXIV More of a Hassle Since 5 Minutes Ago

August 29, 2010

FFXIVCore just posted some new information that comes directly from Square Enix’s Account Management website in Europe.

To put it simply, Square Enix will be changing their account management system when FFXIV comes out and, in the process, appears to be discouraging me from purchasing a copy of the MMO through Play-Asia.

As I understand it (and I could be wrong on a point here so correct me if I am) people who already own Square Enix accounts and everyone who plans on creating a Square Enix account will need to register a country of residence when they sign in past September 1. Connected to the release of FFXIV, folks will also have to ensure that the copy of FFXIV they will get will need to be of the same region (either Japan, The Americas, or Europe and Other Regions) as their account.

All in all, that sort of discourages importing copies of the game from elsewhere, but I digress. What makes this rather unsettling and potentially very difficult for me is this potential scenario:

Imagine if the Philippines is not an actual Square Enix account region. This would mean I’d have to essentially tweak (okay, lie on) my future Square Enix account page when purchasing a copy of the game from an import site like Play-Asia (which has US copies for pre-order). Thus, without any information to base a purchase on, I’d have to hope that a Philippine-based credit card will be allowed to pay for a US account.

If the Philippines isn’t an actual Square Enix account region, and my credit card isn’t going to be allowed to pay for a US account, then I’m going to have to jump through some additional hoops just to be able to play the game, which may include reimbursing a friend through Paypal to pay for my sub on my behalf with that person’s US credit card.

A similarly horrible scenario will occur if Square Enix will carry that second layer of security that PlayOnline uses on the accounts they have on FFXI, which is to require you to have a Mastercard SecureSomethingorother or Verified by Visa capable credit card. Even if I do purchase a US version or wait for a Southeast Asian version of the game to come out, if the game still requires an added layer of protection that my country doesn’t support, then I’ll still have to find a friend to pay on my behalf.

Yet again, this would be another reason why I’m still gathering information before making my final decision on a purchase of FFXIV. I do believe I’ll have to try making a Square Enix account in September to see if the Philippines is a viable region.

34 Comments leave one →
  1. August 29, 2010 04:55

    Ah, what a hassle. That stinks for you.

    And it stinks for all of us. That means no more playing on the same servers as the Japanese players…that was one of my favorite parts of FF XI!

  2. james permalink
    August 29, 2010 14:02

    Dirty foreigners, wanting a sippy cup too?, WELL YOU CAN’T HAVE IT

    JP ONRY

  3. August 29, 2010 19:41

    I’m going with hoping it’s irony.

    The offer still stands, though it’s ridiculously shortsighted of Square Enix if they really *do* set things up so half the planet (okay, a sixth, if we include the Indian Sub-Continent and I don’t see why we shouldn’t) can’t play their game.

    Then again Japanese companies are just as prone to making boneheaded decisions as any others.

    • August 29, 2010 21:38

      Thanks Ysh.

      Not going to think about that whole thing till it’s time. Just going to do the research and focus on other stuff so I don’t get annoyed with SE. :D

  4. JediBot permalink
    August 31, 2010 23:13

    Yeah, so nearly all of Asia is not considered as a region by SE, they don’t want their fellow Asians to play their game, but East Timor and Nepal are allowed under the Oceanic region

    • September 1, 2010 07:19

      It’s freaky, really. I was also looking for Singapore, but I don’t think I noticed it. Do they expect us all to sign up under the North American banner?

  5. Mang Juan permalink
    September 1, 2010 05:56

    Hey, I am also from the Philippines and I plan to play this game. Hopefully we can find a way to play and pay for our accounts with the services offered here in our country. I just don’t get it why they don’t initially include the Philippines in the list of SE Account regions. It’s a major Asian country, you know.

    • September 1, 2010 07:22

      Hi Mang Juan! :D

      I remember FFXI was like that, as I wasn’t able to play it due to the credit card requirements needing a secondary layer of security that isn’t used in our country.

      Hopefully, Square Enix will play nice with us this time, but from the looks of things, we may need to jump through a few hoops.

    • September 1, 2010 07:24

      By the way, where are you planning on getting your copy of the game?

      • Mang Juan permalink
        September 2, 2010 03:39

        That I don’t know yet. Hopefully Datablitz would release this. If not, I would have no choice but to go for online shopping. I haven’t really thought of it fully as I am still waiting if we can really get to play this here in the Philippines. Here’s to hoping I get into the Open Beta to test the latency. LOL. If it’s fine, next problem will be the jumping through the hoops for the subscription.

      • September 2, 2010 04:33

        If you manage to get into and download the open beta, let me know your system specs and your experience and I’ll post your impressions of beta for Philippine gamers, if you’d like. :)

  6. jedibot permalink
    September 1, 2010 08:59

    I was badgering Datablitz to order me a CE but now with this mixup I might not get it for a while, I noticed that Thailand, Singapore, Hongkong, Philippines, Indonesia and Malaysia are not in any region selectable, BUT there is East Timor and Bangladesh on the list……

    Wow there must be a lot more subscribers in those 2 Asian countries than the whole ASEAN founding nations……

    • September 1, 2010 13:25

      I’m still waiting for a Response from Square Enix regarding my Support query about where people who aren’t in any of the listed regions can register their accounts.

  7. jedibot permalink
    September 1, 2010 09:02

    I even selected HSBC out of the different banks when I applied last year for a credit card because I was sure SE would still implement the security features of VISA and MASTERCARD

    • September 1, 2010 13:18

      Question: What’s the difference between getting an HSBC credit card and say, a BPI or BDO credit card? They serve Visas or something?

      • jedibot permalink
        September 1, 2010 15:40

        HSBC cards are part of the Verified by Visa and Secure by Mastercard programs that is needed by SE, I think Metrobank is also part of the said program, they are the only banks here in our country that are part of the said security programs.

      • September 1, 2010 19:41

        Oh crap. I have a BPI Mastercard that doesn’t have the Mastercard Securewhatever feature (we’re not even in the choices for a region!).

        I think I better talk to someone about getting a Verified by Visa card…

  8. bricklayer permalink
    September 1, 2010 15:34

    Yea, looks like Taiwan isn’t on the list either, for that matter. Great….

    Of course, Taiwan hasn’t really been a “country” as defined by the rest of the world since the Nixon years (I think), so nothing new. Still, not seeing Singapore, the Philippines, and lots of other SE Asian countries on there is sure discouraging. I may just try my luck with the NA version. I seriously hope they don’t plan on IP blocking.

    • September 1, 2010 19:39

      Hi Mr. bricklayer.

      As it stands, what I understand is that the servers are international. I think the purpose of the region specificity in the Square Enix accounts is to make sure that people in certain regions buy the regionally appropriate Square Enix goods.

      Of course, if you aren’t in the list of territories, I can only imagine that being a big F-You to rest of the world.

  9. Beta permalink
    September 3, 2010 15:26

    As already mentioned before, I assume almost all SE Asia countries still can’t play this, am I right?

    I don’t want to register under different country and get banned later just because they detect my IP and register country are different.

    • September 3, 2010 16:54

      Yes, that is true. A lot of Southeast Asian countries aren’t supported in the account system, and there’s no telling Square Enix will react if we put in a different location other than the one we live in, which isn’t in the listed options.

  10. September 4, 2010 03:50

    This is a big, big disaster for me.
    I’m in Thailand and yes we’ve never been categorized to any specific region before. We’re in South East Asia, so close to Japan, but I can’t read Japanese fluently, while English is my 2nd language, so I had to purchase NA version of FFXI, of course.

    No that we’re forced to register our SQEN account as correct region, more troubles come up. First, like you and someone said already, my country isn’t even listed in any of the 3 regions.

    Secondly, if, I mean if, we those who aren’t listed, are set to EU and others (because of the “others” seems to fit us best for now,) then it means my SQEN account will no longer be of the same region as all my FFXI products.

    Mind you, that we couldn’t register (or “link”) the FFXI POL ID of different region to SQEN account, as I’ve tried to link a friend’s POL ID obtained from JP client FFXI to another friend’s NA SQEN account, and it didn’t allow me.

    So that means it’s very highly likely that we’re screwed.

    We’re screwed especially if FFXIV region has the same restriction….about linking to SQEB account. Because I won’t be able to link my new FFXIV account to the same SQEN account that’s holding my NA FFXI version of POL ID.

    No Hermes Sandals for me…
    No discount for FFXI fee either….

    I sent a query regarding all these matters to them, and after 3 days they replied with a bunch of FAQ question and answers that are not even half-helpful.

    “We apologize for any confusion this change in our system may have caused. We have compiled a short FAQ for you which should resolve your inquiries. Mind you this is all the information we have available to us, so we apologize if your specific question is not answered. If it is not, please check back with us for updates. We certainly hope you’re able to resolve this issue.”

    They also said in the reply mail….

    “We do understand that you may have questions that the information we have provided may not to answer directly, please remain patient as this is all the information we have available at this time. ”

    Which I can only interpret into “We don’t know what to do or how to solve your problems, whatever will happen will happen, please wait and see, because we cannot answer your questions.”

    How sad ><;;

  11. apacheslash permalink
    September 4, 2010 07:16

    Well….this maybe trigger a FF XIV Private Server, a new good job to call….
    Maybe SE company only listed country with lowest piracy “clean country”….or maybe a boneheaded SE company wanna show their power of arrogancy…it’s very difficult not to say they don’t think about not putting ASEAN country in their list…but it’s happen…so i hope some nutcracker will make FF XIV Private server….maybe this PS should be located in Timor Leste or Nepal…joke…

    • September 4, 2010 16:26

      I don’t agree with Private servers, but somehow, this would seem like the perfect excuse indignant gamers might have for creating an FFXIV PS.

  12. supermanzz permalink
    September 18, 2010 00:02

    It’s easy to understand why they did that. From FFXI they noticed which countries got the rmters. Then they simply removed them from possible locations to register. All they need to do is verify that IPs are always in their correct locations and if not, then they can simply ban them.

    Might be bullshit for most people wanting to play, but they did say they had a plan to stop rmt.

  13. rain permalink
    September 22, 2010 18:41

    i email Se support since like most of you guys. my country Philippines is not listed in SE account management sys. i asked that will i have a problem if i bought a copy here in australia thyen play the game in philippines. will i be able to play and will i get other problems like in payment and IP banning? they said:

    Dear Customer,

    Thank you for contacting the Square Enix Support Centre. You will be able to play the game as long as it matches the region of your account.There are no other restrictions.

    Best wishes,Square Enix Support Centre Team
    Thank you again for contacting us and for your interest in Square Enix products!More help and information are available at the Square Enix Support Centre website.

    • September 22, 2010 19:59

      Good to know. :)

      Thanks for the information.

      Just make sure you have a mode of payment that works with the Square Enix system, I suppose. :)

  14. Why? permalink
    January 18, 2011 22:33

    hello.. i just bought the game…. not knowing that this problem would occur….
    i ddnt know that a region is required…. and unfortunately, theres no philippines…
    im form cebu… and i just installed the game..
    my question is:
    WHY DID THEY SELL THIS GAME HERE ON THE PHILIPPINES IF
    PHILIPPINES IS NOT SUPPORTED????????……………

    • January 19, 2011 02:59

      Hi there.

      I’m guessing you bought the US version, correct? Well, if you check some of my other posts (can’t remember which one off the top of my head), you actually can play the game.

      The original problem I had with the game was that the Philippines isn’t officially a listed region. Thing is, you can bypass that by saying you’re from North America and by providing a North American address when you register on Square Enix’s site. They won’t ask immediately for any additional information, as far as I can tell, though you may need to pay indirectly through one of their services.

      As it stands though, I stopped playing already and have found other games to occupy my time. If you’re willing to jump through some extra hurdles to get the game to work for you, then I wish you all the best.

Trackbacks

  1. Games and Geekery’s 2010 in Review! « Games and Geekery

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

