Skip to content

Gearing Up for FFXIV and Getting on a Hype Train

July 5, 2010


I don’t know why, but after having dinner I had this insatiable thirst for info on FFXIV. So much so that I went and signed up for the FFXIVCore forums, read up on the threads there, learned that guilds in FFXIV are called linkshells and applied for one linkshell that fit my timezone needs.

While I’m more or less inclined to go and sign up for a blogger guild, finding a place I can call home with people I can actually play with during the times I’m online is also important. I just hope my system now can run the game well enough, or I’ll be rather annoyed.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. G.D. Hamell permalink
    July 6, 2010 00:33

    I am interested as well in Final Fantasy XIV. From what I have heard, and been able to tell, the whole system has been streamlined. I hope that is true since the battle system and the grinding in XI was a pain. If you are worried about it being able to run on your computer check out the Final Fantasy XIV benchmark (http://bit.ly/b4ZJpx). It runs through a couple different awesome scenes using real-time rendering, so you will get a good idea. At the end, it will spit out a number. Higher the better.

    I am sure you have already seen this, but there is a Alpha and Beta comparison video floating around on a few different gaming sites (http://bit.ly/9XVdHl). It’s pretty cool since they got both running side by side to show the differences and similarities.

  2. July 6, 2010 00:46

    I’m actually downloading the benchmark right now, and then I’ll ask for assistance from the tech and spec section of the FFXIVCore forums. Hopefully it all turns out okay. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

