Skip to content

Final Fantasy XIV System Specs, Release Date, and Pricing Detailed

July 1, 2010

Forget that stupid benchmarking software they set up for Final Fantasy XIV for a moment. Let’s talk about a couple of things related to Final Fantasy XIV that make it a hell of a lot more awesome. Like the release date, pricing information, and system specs of the game.

The game will come out on the PC on September 30, with two different editions: a standard edition that comes with 30 days free gameplay for $49.99 and a Collector’s Edition that will set you back $74.99. The Collector’s Edition comes with the following goodies:

-IN-GAME ITEM – Collector’s Edition preorders will include a reward code to receive an exclusive in-game item, the Onion Helm.
-EARLY ACCESS – Play 8 days prior to the release of the Windows PC Standard Edition (timing of access subject to initial server capacity).
-BEHIND-THE-SCENES DVD – Get an insider look at the making of FINAL FANTASY XIV, with exclusive video content, interviews and more in this special documentary DVD.
-SECURITY TOKEN – A FINAL FANTASY XIV–branded Security Token for use with your regular password.
-TRAVEL JOURNAL – Record your travels in this beautifully bound journal filled with pages of never-before-seen concept art.
-RIGHT OF PASSAGE – Redeem a voucher to receive your fully-personalized Right of Passage Certificate, each stamped with a unique serial number.
-AMANO COVER – Special PC Collector’s Edition illustration by renowned artist Yoshitaka Amano.
-FREE GAMEPLAY – Free gameplay for 30 days.

Pre-ordering the game from either Gamestop or Amazon will get you a code for another in-game item, the Garlond Goggles.

For those wondering about the monthly upkeep, the monthly subscription fee will be $12.99 with additional characters available for $3.00 a month. You can register a total of eight characters on one account. Furthermore, each account essentially gets one free retainer (a “non-playable character that maintains item sales and storage when users are logged out”) with each additional retainer costing ($1.00).

That last bit sounds almost like some sort of mule system where I get a squire who will sit down and hawk my goods for me when I’m asleep. It’s a little creepy, and potentially scary for an economy if there are a few thousand people sitting down hawking their wares in a capital city, but I’m hoping it’s not what I’m imagining (which is a throwback to Ragnarok Online where there were no auction houses or brokers).

Finally, if you’ve been wondering what the actual specs are for the game… you can find them below.

Operating System
Windows XP SP3
Windows Vista 32bit / 64bit SP2
Windows 7 32bit / 64bit

CPU
Intel® Core™ 2 Duo (2.0GHz)
AMD Athlon™ X2 (2.0GHz)

Memory
Windows XP: 1.5GB or higher
Windows Vista / Windows® 7: 2GB or higher

HDD/SSD Space
Install: 15GB or more
Download: Space on the hard drive where My Documents is located should be 6GB or more

Graphics Card
NVIDIA GeForce 9600 series or higher with VRAM 512MB or more
ATI Radeon HD 2900 series or higher with VRAM 512MB or more

Sound Card
DirectSound compatible sound card (DirectX 9.0c or higher)

Internet Connections
Broadband Internet connection or higher

Resolution
1280 x 720 or higher; 32bit or higher

DirectX
DirectX 9.0c

12 Comments leave one →
  1. July 1, 2010 09:24

    Did you ever play FFXI? I heard it was a tough game. I’ve always liked the FF series of SPRPG’s, but got into MMO’s too late to try out FFXI.

    • July 1, 2010 16:45

      I actually haven’t played FFXI. For some strange reason though, while I was in the US last year, I bought their Final Fantasy XI Collection which had the game and all the latest updates at the time, but never installed it because I didn’t have a credit card then.

      As it stands, FFXI is more solo-friendly than it once was in its inception, but I’ve heard there’s still a bit of a grind here and there if you don’t know where to go.

  2. July 1, 2010 14:54

    I’m actually looking forward to giving this a try. And what you described with a throng of people sitting down hawking their wares in a city while they’re asleep, that reminds me of what I saw happen in Aion right after launch.Yes, it was a little creepy, and a bit annoying.

    • July 1, 2010 16:48

      I’m hoping FFXIV is better than that. When it comes out here in my country in boxed form, I’ll give it a month to see if I prefer it over Everquest 2. :D

      • July 2, 2010 13:11

        Same…I don’t know if I’ll like it, but I’m willing to tackle it with an open month. One month sounds fair enough…if I like it, I’ll continue to sub.

      • July 2, 2010 13:12

        Ugh, the first “month” should = “mind”

  3. July 1, 2010 18:10

    I actually liked FF11 when I first started playing it. I wasn’t expecting it to be such a different MMO. I wasn’t used to playing more Asian style MMO’s so it was a new experience to me. I liked the group mechanics where you could combine special attacks with other players with devastating results, and the class system was pretty interesting, but the game was somewhat of a grind and not very easy. I’m not a glutton for punishment like some people, so I eventually faded away from the game. Can’t say I’m not interested to see what they do with 14 though. But I’ll be waiting on the sidelines for this one until I hear great things hehe.

    • July 1, 2010 18:18

      Well, I’ll try and get the game on release if possible and report back here with information. I just need more Hard Drive space, unfortunately, as I’m severely lacking in that department.

      Also, thanks for commenting! I think I’ve seen you on Multiplaying, am I correct?

    • July 1, 2010 18:19

      Wait lol. It says right there on your link. :D

  4. Mike permalink
    August 6, 2010 21:35

    Hi Victor,

    I’m also from the Philippines and pretty excited to get my hands on Final Fantasy XIV. Problem is our local original game distributor doesn’t accept pre orders for it yet. . I was wanting to get my hands on a collector’s edition but it seems that they might not accept pre orders for it.

    Anyways, where do you plan to get the game here in our country? Either collector’s or normal?

    • August 6, 2010 23:12

      Well, I live in the NCR region, so Data Blitz is my best bet for it, though there may be a delay in acquiring said merchandise from release day.

      That said, online distributors like Play-Asia or Amazon might be able to help, but I don’t think there are pre-orders available for the collector’s edition of FFXIV on Play-Asia.

Trackbacks

  1. What the hell is broccoli anyway? | Bonedead's Adventures

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

