Skip to content

Do I Burn Out Easily?

April 6, 2010

I believe I chose the wrong set of circumstances to go play Everquest 2 in. I was fine with my Shadowknight, because it was something I was used to and it felt good to play it. One day though, I decided I wanted to try something different, and so I rolled a Fury and set him in Freeport.

Now, I feel like I’m burnt out again on playing EQ2, just because of that Fury.

I think my biggest mistake there was playing against my original goal. I wanted to have fun, to play the way I wanted to while having goals I could be happy fulfilling. The thing is, I got it in my head that I could play the Fury and still maintain that sense of fun I had when playing the Shadowknight, but instead, I just feel torn. My Shadowknight has 1 platinum at level 20 from brokering. My Fury has A TON of materials for crafting tier 2 items to get my Shadowknight or Fury up to speed through Carpentry or Tailoring.

I don’t know if it’s leveling through Freeport that’s a pain, or if it’s the Fury itself that’s cramping my style, or a mix of the two, but I just didn’t feel like playing much today, and that kind of sucks, since I’m paying for the game.

I mean, there are two things I want to do for the Fury right now: make it hit level 20 (currently at level 19), so I can get the quest achievement and gold, and then make it hit level 23, which I’ve been told is when Furies get Thunderbolt, which makes them far more fun to play. As for my Shadowknight, I want to see if I can get him to become a tinker and, more importantly, I want to see if I can pick up that decorative claymore that I got from Qeynos and see if it has a Freeport equivalent. I don’t remember what that quest was called though.

I have to ask myself, finally,  if I burn out on games too easily, or is something else keeping me from the fun. If any of you have any advice or answers, I’d definitely like to know what you think.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 6, 2010 22:34

    I get twitchy when a new game comes out. I played EQ2 for a bit but my computer died and I didn’t feel like DLing it again

    • victorstillwater permalink*
      April 6, 2010 22:39

      Define twitchy in this sense. I’m a bit intrigued because I imagine your hands shaking when you find out a new game has been released. :D

  2. April 7, 2010 03:12

    if a game is incredibly long (mostly non-mmo), i tend to burn out exactly at the time when i finish it; case in point BOTH Mass Effect 2 and Dragon Age Origins. Finished both, can’t bring myself to play it again.

    i think for me, its all about having someone to play with, per my blog, i’ve had my gf to play it and it got a really good gaming life, but once she got bored, i got bored too..

  3. April 7, 2010 14:26

    I don’t know if it is the way to go, but I have about 5 characters in EQ2. I have two I adventure with and then a bunch of crafters. I find that no matter what mood I am in I can play and have fun with one of my characters. The fury I use for duoing, the necromancer for solo adventuring, and then when I feel like crafting I use one of the others.

    I am glad I approached this game with the “just play to have fun” mentality and not set myself up with goals that need to be reached. If I gain one level in a week…no problem…if I make 5 gold in a week…fine…if I log in long enough to craft a new wall hanging for my pad…great!

    -pid

    PS the fury does suck to solo before 23…it is true…if you need help getting there some time let me know and I can duo with you in a dungeon or something to get those 4 levels quick.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

