Skip to content

My Favorite Star Trek Series Turned 15 Last Week

January 24, 2010

I only found out an hour ago that my favorite Star Trek series had actually turned 15 last week. Unlike most people, who probably thought the original series or the next generation series was awesome, I find myself more attracted to the circumstances surrounding the USS Voyager.

For one thing, they were stuck on the other side of the galaxy, with a long trip home ahead of them. They had seven seasons in which to pull this off, and they miraculously got through the voyage intact, save for some main character changes and red-shirt deaths.

What really struck me about Star Trek: Voyager was the way it tried to place complex social issues in the spacefaring framework, and for me, I appreciated that. I liked watching the crew (especially Janeway) struggle to maintain the ethics of Starfleet’s code even in the direst of situations.  I liked seeing Robert Picardo’s character, The Doctor, grow to become more human along with all the emotional turmoil that brought. I liked seeing the seemingly heartless cyborg Seven of Nine, Tertiary Adjunct of Unimatrix Zero-One banter with the all too human Doctor.

Whether it was the topic of what made a being human or the medical ethics of triage, or even just fighting the borg (or staring at Jeri Ryan), it made for great television for me, so much so that, when the series ran here in the Philippines, I saw every episode as it aired on the Hallmark Channel, on midnight without fail.

Alas, I doubt I’ll see much of that these days, unless I want to relive Trek feelings by playing Star Trek Online, but I suppose I’d rather just have the nostalgia for now.

In any event, after the cut is a video of the opening, just for you!

Original Picture Source: Starfleet Modeler


5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 25, 2010 04:27

    I never could really get into the Star Trek TOS spin-offs, except NG to a small degree. For me it’s all about Kirk ripping off his shirt and finishing off his adversaries by Kirk-rolling into a devastating uppercut. :D

    • victorstillwater permalink*
      January 25, 2010 04:55

      There’s a Kirk roll?

  2. kaldeem permalink
    January 25, 2010 04:50

    Ha Ha nice post Stillwater. I’m a huge Trekkie, and enjoy all of the Treks from then to now.

    I was hoping for STO to be a great title, but from all the reports I am skeptical at its worth and longevity.
    Anyways, thanks for the post its nice to reminisce every now and then.

    ‘Live long and prosper’

    Kal

    • victorstillwater permalink*
      January 25, 2010 05:02

      Thanks for the comment. The reports on STO have me worried too, as I want the brand to succeed, but I get the feeling that the game will be really short on content. :(

      To that I say, “KHAAAAAAAAAAN!”

Trackbacks

  1. If Stillwater Enters Fluidic Space, is He Still Stillwater? « Games and Geekery

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

